Networking Basics - Certifications - Windows 7 - Windows 8 - Home Network Setup - Wireless Setup :: About - Contact - Search

Fix any Windows Error and optimize your System!

EC-Council Certified Security Analyst (ECSA)

What is the EC-Council Certified Security Analyst certification?

The ECSA is an advanced ethical hacking certification which compliments the Certified Ethical Hacker (CEH) certification.

The EC-Council Certified Security Analyst certification validates the analytic phase of ethical hacking.

A common certification path for a security expert would be to earn the Certified Ethical Hacker certification along with this certification and then apply for the Licensed Penetration Tester certification.

The CEH and this certification (E-CSA) are both pre-requisites for the Licensed Penetration Tester certification.

What careers can this certification help you with?

Candidates who pursue the EC-Certified Security Analyst certification usually hold positions like penetration tester and IT security engineers.

How much does the exam cost?

The EC-Council Certified Security Analyst certification requires that you pass exam (412-79)


Transcender helped me study for all my IT certifications. You can't go wrong since they guarantee you will pass every exam on the first try or your money back!!

Shop Transcender - A Kaplan Company

What skills are measured?

The Exam 412-79 tests candidates on the following 35 domains.

  • Module 1: The Need for Security Analysis
  • Module 2: Advanced Googling
  • Module 3: TCP/IP Packet Analysis
  • Module 4: Advanced Sniffing Techniques
  • Module 5: Vulnerability Analysis with Nessus
  • Module 6: Advanced Wireless Testing
  • Module 7: Designing a DMZ
  • Module 8: Snort Analysis
  • Module 9: Log Analysis
  • Module 10: Advanced Exploits and Tools
  • Module 11: Penetration Testing Methodologies
  • Module 12: Customers and Legal Agreements
  • Module 13: Penetration Testing Planning and Scheduling
  • Module 14: Pre Penetration Testing Checklist
  • Module 15: Information Gathering
  • Module 16: Vulnerability Analysis
  • Module 17: External Penetration Testing
  • Module 18: Internal Network Penetration Testing
  • Module 19: Router Penetration Testing
  • Module 20: Firewall Penetration Testing
  • Module 21: IDS Penetration Testing
  • Module 22: Wireless Network Penetration Testing
  • Module 23: Denial of Service Penetration Testing
  • Module 24: Password Cracking Penetration Testing
  • Module 25: Social Engineering Penetration Testing
  • Module 26: Stolen Laptop Penetration Testing
  • Module 27: Application Penetration Testing
  • Module 28: Physical Security Penetration Testing
  • Module 29: Database Penetration testing
  • Module 30: VoIP Penetration Testing
  • Module 31: VPN Penetration Testing
  • Module 32: Penetration Testing Report Analysis
  • Module 33: Penetration Testing Report and Documentation Writing
  • Module 34: Penetration Testing Deliverables and Conclusion
  • Module 35: Ethics of a Licensed Penetration Tester


As of Sept 1st, 2011, all exams on Prometric APTC and Pearson VUE channels will require a Non Refundable Eligibility Application Fee of $100.00 USD.

Visit our e-Store to shop our most recommended certification books and equipment

Return from ECSA to Network Certification

Return from ECSA to homepage of Computer Networking Success

"Didn't find what you were looking for? Use this search feature to find it."

Custom Search


Did You Like This Page?

New! Comments

Have your say about what you just read! Leave a comment in the box below.

Share This Page